Home » Membership » 2018 Board of Directors Election

Voting Ends April 19, 2018 – Cast Your Ballot Today!

Casting your vote is a privilege of membership and will help shape the future of your credit union.

To access the online ballot and cast your votes, click the "Vote Now" button below and follow the prompts. You will be asked to provide your 6-digit member number and birth date to validate your membership and voting eligibility.

Please see candidate biographies below.

Please note the following:
  • To vote, you must be a current NIHFCU member with at least $25 in deposits as of February 28, 2018 and be at least 18 years old as of April 24, 2018.
  • You may vote only 1 time. You must be the primary name on an account to vote.
  • Three Board of Director positions are to be filled in this election. (See below for candidate bios.)
  • The voting period is March 1, 2018 – April 19, 2018. (All ballots must be received by 11:59pm on 4/19/2018 to be counted.)
  • Election results will be announced at the NIHFCU’s Annual Meeting on April 24, 2018 (noon – 1:30pm), NIH Main Campus, Building 31, 6th Floor, Room 10.

Donald Christoferson

D Christoferson

Mr. Donald Christoferson has held several executive level positions including Deputy Executive Officer, National Cancer Institute; Acting Director, NIH Office of Technology Transfer; and Executive Officer, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. As a member of the Senior Executive Service (SES), he was awarded the Presidential Rank of Meritorious Executive and also has received other awards including the PHS Special Recognition Award and the NIH Director’s Award. He has been an NIHFCU member for over 35 years and has been on the Board of Directors from 2007 to the present. Mr. Christoferson currently serves as Secretary of the Board of Directors and is also a member of the Asset Liability Management Committee and the Board Governance/Strategic Planning Committee. His fields of expertise include financial management, organizational and business process management, and human resources.

Laura Gent

L Gent

Ms. Laura Gent has 18 years of federal budgeting experience, including 10 years at the NIH. She served as Budget Officer for the National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities in her most recent NIH position. Ms. Gent is presently a budget director at the Health Resources and Services Administration, managing program and information technology budgets. Additionally, she has four years of private sector experience in hospital administration and health care consulting. Ms. Gent has been a member of the NIH Federal Credit Union for seven years and has been serving as volunteer on the Asset Liability Management and Information Technology Steering Committees since 2015. She holds a Master in Business Administration from the University of Virginia and a Bachelor of Arts from Stanford University. She received two Director’s Awards while at NIH.

Kurt John

D Christoferson

Mr. Kurt John is the Executive Officer for the Center for Information Technology (CIT) and provides executive leadership and direction for the office of administrative management, and advise the center director, senior staff, and IT program managers on a broad range of business and administrative policies. Before joining CIT, Mr. John served as the Deputy Budget Officer of the National Eye Institute and served on several trans-NIH advisory committees. Before NIH, Mr. John served for eight years on active duty in the U.S. Navy. Mr. John earned his bachelor and master’s degrees in Finance from the University of Maryland, and Master of Public Administration from American University. Currently, Mr. John is a doctoral candidate in the George Washington University’s Executive Leadership Program. Mr. John has been an NIHFCU member for eight years.

Cheryl Stevens

D Christoferson

Ms. Cheryl Stevens had a 34 year career within the HHS, 29 years of which was with the NIH. Ms. Stevens worked in Leadership and Executive positions for nearly 25 years. She held an Executive Officer position at the NIH for six years and senior leadership positions within the FDA. Ms. Stevens retired from Federal service and is now the Founder and CEO of Thrive Coaching, LLC where she coaches Executives and aspiring leaders individually and with teams, helping them to deliver outstanding results by building synergy and establishing greater trust. Ms. Stevens holds a BA and a Master of Public Administration from the American University. Ms. Stevens has served on the NIHFCU Board of Directors since 2012 and is the Vice Chair of the Board and the Chairperson of the Business Development Committee. She has been an NIHFCU member for 33 years.

Timothy Tosten

D Christoferson

Mr. Timothy Tosten is currently the Acting NIH Associate Director for Research Services. He came to the NIH in 1993 as a Presidential Management Intern dedicated to the Office of Research Services after receiving his Master of Public Administration from the University of Baltimore. He saw the value of being a member of the NIHFCU when he first started in 1993, and he now has the pleasure of serving on the NIHFCU Board for the last four years. He is the current Chair of the Board Governance and Strategic Planning Committee and a member of the IT Steering Committee. His career has spanned the roles of working in all areas of the NIH - intramural, extramural and central services, and he has been an Executive Officer for two NIH ICs. He currently leads a $250M NIH central service that provides a broad range of scientific and employee services.