Home » About NIHFCU » Who We Are » Ownership & Administration


As a not-for-profit financial cooperative, NIH Federal Credit Union is owned and operated by its members. This means when you deposit at NIHFCU, you own part of the institution. Every member has one equal vote for the Board of Directors and each year our Board of Directors is elected by NIHFCU members.

Board of Directors, (Steven Berkowitz, Chairman of the Board)

The Board of Directors is a volunteer group elected by the membership and is responsible for the general direction of the Credit Union, including developing goals and establishing policy. The board members are committed to ensuring a high level of service to members and to enhancing the financial position of the Credit Union. You can contact our Board of Directors at Board@nihfcu.org*

Supervisory Committee

The Supervisory Committee ensures the integrity and financial strength of the NIHFCU while continuing the highest level of service to our membership. Should you have concerns or comments about the credit union, we recommend you email the credit union at nihfcu@nihfcu.org for the quickest response. However, if you are not satisfied with the outcome, please feel free to contact the Supervisory Committee at supervisorycommittee@nihfcu.org or P.O.Box 1482, Rockville, MD 20850 


Rick Wieczorek has been the President/CEO of National Institutes of Health Federal Credit Union since 2014. He has over 30 years in the credit union industry and is also currently the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the MD-DC Credit Union Association. You can contact our President/CEO at CEO@nihfcu.org*

For general account inquiries, please email nihfcu@nihfcu.org* or call 800.877.6440.

* For your security, please do not include sensitive financial information such as your member number or social security number.